NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Ground & Flight Data Systems Overview

The Ground & Flight Data Systems (GFDS) Group creates systems to facilitate transmission and processing of data between spacecraft, rovers, satellites, ground control, and distributed mission teams. Data ranges from communications, telemetry, and Integrated Systems Health Management (ISHM) data, to planetary, astrophysical, medical, and biological science research data and analytics. Ground processing of data is accomplished by science pipeline data systems, which transform raw, uncorrected, uncalibrated data into usable products for the science community. GFDS designs systems to satisfy carefully defined and documented user requirements involving the secure handling of sensitive and irreplaceable mission data. The group supports space and planetary exploration missions, as well as Earth and space sciences, small satellite, and aeronautics missions and projects.


  • Advanced Mission Management Operations System (AMMOS)
  • Ames Research Center (ARC) International Space Station Operations Center (ISOC)
  • Exploration Medical Capability (ExMC) Medical Data Architecture
  • Kepler Mission / Kepler 2 (K2) follow-on mission
  • Open (Source) Mission Critical Technologies (Open MCT)
  • Resource Prospector Ground Data System (RGDS)
  • Resource Prospector Mission Operations System (RMOS)
  • Rodent Research Software
  • Stratospheric Observatory For Infrared Astronomy (SOFIA) Mission Controls and Communications System (MCCS)
  • Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite (TESS)


Group Lead
Jay Trimble

Group Members
Jorge Bardina
Susan Blumenberg
Lee Brownston
Robert Carvahlo
Misty Davies
Matt Deans
Lionel Delmo
Hassan Eslami
Mohana Gurram
Charles Hacskaylo
Andrew Henry
Sarah Hobart
Jon Jenkins
Tristan Le
Jenessa Lin
Masoud Mansouri-Samani
Nimesh Marker
William McDermott
Victoria Moore
Rob Morris
Cedric Priscal
John Rasmussen
Pete Richards
Mark Rose
Sam Santiago
Pegah Sarram
Mark Shirley
Jeffrey Smith
Helen Stewart
Deep Tailor
Peter Tenenbaum
Hao Thai
Eric Ting
Joseph Twicken
May Windrem
Victor Woeltjen
Shawn Wolfe
Enya Yang

First Gov logo
NASA Logo -