NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
Intelligent Systems Division Banner

OCAMS 4.3 Deployed In JSC Mission Control

Orbital Communications Adapter Management System (OCAMS) release 4.3 was successfully deployed for International Space Station (ISS) operations at Johnson Space Center (JSC) on April 10, 2012. This release further enhances the automation of routine work in manipulating files onboard ISS, enabling the consolidation of two Mission Control Center (MCC) backroom positions.

OCAMS 4.3 adds new, more efficient file delivery methods and supports large numbers of file operations (1000+) in a single procedure. It improves overall performance of the application in both the user interface and processing, and implements enhancements requested by the user community related to handover logging, mail synchronization, delivery, close-out procedures, and creating special file processing requests.

BACKGROUND: OCAMS is a direct application of the Mobile Agents system developed for NASA’s Exploration Technology Development Program in 2002-06. Open architecture and interoperability methods have been generalized to fit multiple network and security protocols within MCC. This design enables simultaneous running of the application on multiple OCA clients that interact with the ISS File Transfer Protocol (FTP) program (SWRDFSH), which queues requests and reports results to the software agents. It is the first application of intelligent multi-agent systems technology in NASA’s Mission Control operations.

OCAMS has been deployed at JSC since July 2008. Release 4.3 is the third incremental release in a series of tool refinements that continue through FY12.

NASA PROGRAM FUNDING: OCAMS is funded through an Intercenter Task Agreement between the Johnson Space Center Mission Operations Directorate and the Ames Research Center Intelligent Systems Division.

TEAM: Sue Blumenberg (SGT Inc.), Bill Clancey (ARC/FIHMC), Mike Scott (Dell Services), Chin Seah (SGT Inc.), and Ron van Hoof (Dell Services)

JSC COLLABORATORS: Tyler Doubrava (MS4/USA), Tim Hall (DO48), James Hart (DD42/Lockheed Martin Corp), Claude Jenkins (DD4/Lockheed Martin Corp), Steve Kirk (DO46/USA), Paul Lansing (FDOC/Lockheed Martin Corp), Erik Madrid (DO48/Lockheed Martin Corp), Jason Mintz (DO46/USA), Dan Owen (FDOC/Lockheed Martin Corp), Jonathan Reyes (DO46/USA), Chuck Shultz (DA39/Barrios Technology), Marc Spicer (DO48), Jason Toschlog (DO48/USA), and Jenny Yang (DD42/Lockheed Martin Corp)

Contact: William J. Clancey

First Gov logo
NASA Logo -