NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
Intelligent Systems Division Banner

MCT Team Receives JSC Director’s Innovation Award

The Mission Control Technologies (MCT) team has been awarded the Johnson Space Center’s Director’s Innovation Award for their outstanding application of innovative techniques and technologies that improve the safety and efficiency of spacecraft command and control tools for mission operations. The Johnson Space Center (JSC) Honor Awards Ceremony was held on Thursday, July 28, 2011, in the Teague Auditorium at Johnson Space Center in Houston.

BACKGROUND: NASA Ames, in collaboration with Johnson Space Center (JSC), has built a set of frameworks to enable mission operations software systems to be assembled from flexible collections of user-composable components. By assembling systems from components on a common framework, the traditional “walls” of monolithic applications are eliminated, as are heterogeneous code bases and functional overlap that come with traditional software applications. Composable interfaces empower users to make rapid changes to software within the constraints of organizational policy, but without the need for code changes from platform service providers. In turn, platform service providers have the capability to provide certified, yet flexible systems.

For more information about MCT, see:

NASA PROGRAM FUNDING: JSC Mission Operations Directorate

TEAM: Tom Dayton, Madelyn Quinol, Mark Rose, Nija Shi, Irene Smith, Peter Tran, Jay Trimble, Chris Webster, Sue Blumenberg, Adam Crume, Benson Hong, and Sylvia Lin

Contact: Jay Trimble

First Gov logo
NASA Logo -