NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration
Intelligent Systems Division Banner

NASA Formal Methods Symposium

Robust Software Engineering researchers Ewen Denney (SGT), Dimitra Giannakopoulou (CMU), and Corina Pasareanu (CMU) organized the First NASA Formal Methods Symposium (NFM 2009), held on April 6-8, 2009, at the NASA Ames Conference Center, Moffett Field, California. The NASA Formal Methods Symposium is a new annual event intended to highlight the state of formal methods art and practice. It follows the earlier Langley Formal Methods Workshop series and aims to foster collaboration between NASA researchers and engineers, as well as the wider aerospace, safety-critical, and formal methods communities.

The symposium attracted over 100 international attendees from both academia and industry. It featured 22 technical presentations, and invited talks by Ed Clarke (Turing Award 2007, CMU), Todd Farley (NASA Ames), Leslie Lamport (Microsoft Research), John O’Leary (Intel), and Bill Othon (NASA Johnson). The program also included a panel discussion on “Formal Methods meet NASA needs” that was chaired by Mats Heimdahl (U. Minnesota).

For more information, see the NFM 2009 website.

Contact: Dimitra Giannakopoulou


First Gov logo
NASA Logo -