NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration

+NASA Home

+Ames Home

Distributed Spacecraft Autonomy Project Completes Critical Design Assessment
Intelligent Systems Division Banner

Distributed Spacecraft Autonomy Project Completes Critical Design Assessment

On Friday, May 29, the Distributed Spacecraft Autonomy (DSA) project presented its Critical Design Assessment (CDA) for its autonomy flight software payload designs and algorithms. DSA presented to Game Changing Development program leadership, subject matter experts from the Jet Propulsion Laboratory and Goddard Space Flight Center, Ames Research Center Safety and Mission Assurance, as well as local Intelligent Systems Division domain experts. Attendees provided critical project feedback on all aspects of DSA and confirmed DSA's ability to continue development.

BACKGROUND: Distributed Spacecraft Autonomy (DSA) is a project under the Space Technology Mission Directorate’s Game Changing Development Program. Its goal is to develop and mature autonomy for distributed spacecraft missions. DSA is made up of two parts, an on-orbit flight demonstration and a ground-based scalability study. DSA's on-orbit flight demonstration will be as a software payload on the Small Satellite Technology Program's Starling project. DSA's on-orbit flight demonstration will demonstrate consistency for autonomous decision-making in response to measurements of the Earth’s ionosphere across a swarm of four satellites. DSA is a NASA Procedural Requirements (NPR) 7150.8 Software Engineering software-only project, and as such has been encouraged to streamline the standard review processes, which includes holding project-owned “assessments” in lieu of many of the traditional “reviews” required of NPR 7120.5 Spaceflight Program and Project Management projects. The CDA is one such “assessment”.

NASA PROGRAM FUNDING: Game Changing Development (GCD), Space Technology Mission Directorate (STMD)

TEAM: Roland Burton, Daniel Cellucci, Nick Cramer Jeremy Frank, Chuck Fry, Jason Fugate, Sergei Gridnev, Kelley Hashemi, Steven Hu, Michael Iatauro, Brian Kempa, Richard Levinson, Andrew Mikhail, and Adam Sweet


First Gov logo
NASA Logo -