NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration

+NASA Home

+Ames Home

Astrobee Conducts International Space Station Delta Payload Safety Review Panel #2
Intelligent Systems Division Banner

Astrobee Conducts International Space Station Delta Payload Safety Review Panel #2

The Human Exploration Telerobotics (HET2) project / Astrobee element will conduct a delta Payload Safety Review Panel #2 (PSRP 2) on January 11-12, 2017, at Johnson Space Center (JSC). The purpose of PSRP 2 is to obtain safety review panel approval of updated safety analysis that reflect the critical design and concept of operations, update hazard causes defined at PSRP 1, assure hazard controls have been implemented, assure all verification methods are documented, identify potential safety non-compliances, and document newly identified hazards in existing or additional hazard reports. The Astrobee Safety Data Package (SDP) was submitted to the PSRP the week of December 12, 2016, for review, as well as to the Ames System Safety and Mission Assurance Division (Code QS).

BACKGROUND: Astrobee will be a free-flying robot on the International Space Station that can be remotely operated by astronauts in space, or by mission controllers on the ground. We are developing Astrobee to perform a variety of Intra-Vehicular Activities (IVAs). These IVA tasks include interior environmental surveys (e.g., sound level measurement), inventory, and mobile camera work. Astrobee will also serve as a platform for robotics research in microgravity.

NASA PROGRAM FUNDING: Game Changing Development (GCD) program, Space Technology Missions Directorate (STMD)

TEAM: Watson Attai, Jonathan Barlow, Stephen Battazzo, Jeff Blair, Katie Browne, Maria Bualat, Brian Coltin, Earl Daley, Lorenzo Fluckiger, Terry Fong, Jesse Fusco, Ryan Goetz (Jet Propulsion Laboratory), Ali Kashani, Yunkyung Kim, John Love, Nghia Mai, Albeto Makino, Mike McIntyre, Blair McLachlan, Don Morr, Ted Morse, Robert Nakamura, In Won Park, Cedric Priscal, Chris Provencher, Estrellina Pacis Rius, Hugo Sanchez, Ernie Smith, Trey Smith, Corey Snyder, Andrew Symington, Omar Talavera, Vinh To, DW Wheeler, Shang Wu, and Jongwoon Yoo

COLLABORATORS: The Synchronized Position Hold, Engage, Reorient, Experimental Satellites (SPHERES) program, Jessica Marquez (Human Systems Integration Division – Code TH), and Ali Guarneros Luna (System Safety and Mission Assurance Division – Code QS)

CUSTOMERS: SPHERES program, Human Exploration Operations Mission Directorate (HEOMD); ISS Flight Controllers and ISS Payload Controllers

POINT OF CONTACT: Chris Provencher,

First Gov logo
NASA Logo -