NASA Logo, National Aeronautics and Space Administration

The First NASA Formal Methods Symposium

(NFM 2009)

April 6 - 8, 2009 Moffett Field, California

Important Dates:

Submission: February 8, 2009
Notification: March 6, 2009
Final version: March 22, 2009

Theme of Conference:

The widespread use and increasing complexity of safety-critical systems require advanced techniques that address their verification and certification requirements.

NFM 2009 is a forum for theoreticians and practitioners from academia and industry, with the goals of identifying challenges and providing solutions to achieving assurance in safety-critical systems. Within NASA, for example, such systems include autonomous robots, separation assurance algorithms for aircraft, and autonomous rendezvous and docking for spacecraft. Moreover, emerging paradigms such as code generation and safety cases are bringing with them new challenges and opportunities.

The focus of the symposium will be on formal techniques, their theory, current capabilities, and limitations, as well as their application to aerospace, robotics, and other safety-critical systems.The symposium aims to introduce researchers, graduate students, and partners in industry to those topics that are of interest, to survey current research, and to identify unsolved problems and directions for future research.

The meeting will be comprised of invited talks by leading researchers and practitioners, a panel discussion on the current status of formal methods, and more specialized talks based on contributed papers.

The NASA Formal Methods Symposium is a new annual event intended to highlight the state of formal methods' art and practice.It follows the earlier Langley Formal Methods Workshop series and aims to foster collaboration between NASA researchers and engineers, as well as the wider aerospace, safety-critical and formal methods communities.

Topics of Interest include (but are not limited to):


Program Chairs:

Ewen Denney, NASA Ames
Dimitra Giannakopoulou, NASA Ames
Corina Pasareanu, NASA Ames

Email the NFM chairs: nfm09-chairs "at"

Program Committee:

Gilles Barthe, IMDEA, Madrid
Guillaume Brat, NASA Ames
Ricky Butler, NASA Langley
Charles Consel, INRIA, Bordeaux
Krzysztof Czarnecki, U. Waterloo

Luca de Alfaro, UC Santa Cruz
Ben Di Vito, NASA Langley
Matt Dwyer, U. Nebraska
Martin Feather, JPL
Klaus Havelund, JPL
Mats Heimdahl, U. Minnesota

Gerard Holzmann, JPL
John Kelly, NASA HQ
Mike Lowry, NASA Ames
John Matthews, Galois Inc.
César Muñoz, NASA Langley
John Penix, Google

Kristin Y. Rozier, NASA Ames
Wolfram Schulte, Microsoft
Koushik Sen, UC Berkeley
Natarajan Shankar, SRI
Doug Smith, Kestrel Institute
Mike Whalen, Rockwell Collins

Organizing Committee:

Ewen Denney, NASA Ames
Ben Di Vito, NASA Langley
Dimitra Giannakopoulou, NASA Ames
Klaus Havelund, JPL
Gerard Holzmann, JPL

César Muñoz, NASA Langley
Corina Pasareanu, NASA Ames
James Rash, NASA Goddard
Kristin Y. Rozier, NASA Ames

[NASA Formal Methods Groups]

Web Administrator:

Allen Dutra, NASA Ames